Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services www.hhs.gov
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality www.ahrq.gov
Archive print banner
National Hospital Available Beds for Emergencies and Disasters (HAvBED) System

Public Health Emergency Preparedness

This resource was part of AHRQ's Public Health Emergency Preparedness (PHEP) program, which was discontinued on June 30, 2011, in a realignment of Federal efforts.

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: https://info.ahrq.gov. Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to www.ahrq.gov for current information.

Appendix A. HavBED Advisory Group

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Sally Phillips, R.N., Ph.D.
Director, Public Health Emergency Preparedness Program
HHS-AHRQ
540 Gaither Road
Rockville, MD 20850

Daniel Salazar
Technical Advisor
Bioterrorism Preparedness Research Program
AHRQ
540 Gaither Road

Padmini Jagadish
HHS-AHRQ

Return to Contents

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Public Health Emergency Preparedness (OASPHEP)

Robert Blitzer
Deputy Assistant Secretary
200 Independence Ave.,
S.W., Room 633-F,
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 205-0872
E-mail: Robert.Blitzer@hhs.gov

Josefine (Chris) Keenan
Staff Assistant/Dr. Claypool
E-mail: Josefine.Keenan@hhs.gov

Shayne Brannman, MS, MA
Special Assistant, OASPHEP {CNAC IPA}
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Ave. SW, Suite 635F
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 205-4246
E-mail: Shayne.Brannman@hhs.gov

Capt Ann Knebel, R.N., D.N.Sc.
Sr. Program Management Officer Consultant
200 Independence Ave.
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 205-5129
E-mail: Ann.Knebel@hhs.gov

Robert G. Claypool, MD
Deputy Chief Medical Officer
OASPHEP/USDHHS
Phone: (202) 401-2281 or (202) 205-2882
E-mail: Robert.Claypool@hhs.gov

Matthew Payne, MPA
Phone: (202) 205-4862 or (202) 205-1002
E-mail: matthew.payne@hhs.gov

Rhonda Earls, MSN, CNM
Army War College Fellow
E-mail: Rhonda.Earls@hhs.gov

Dean Ross
Director, Secretary's Command Center
200 Independence Ave
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 619-7879
Fax: (202) 619-7870
E-mail: Dean.Ross@hhs.gov

Patricia Y. Johnson
Staff Assistant/Mr. Blitzer
OASPHEP
Hubert Humphrey Bldg.
200 Independence Ave., Suite 638-G
Washington, D.C. 20201
Phone: (202) 205-2882
Fax: (202) 690-6512
E-mail: patricia.johnson@hhs.gov

Elaine C. Wolff, MHS
LTJG, USPHS
PHEP Predictive Services Officer
Secretary's Command Center
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 636G
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: (202) 619-7808
Fax: (202) 619-7870
E-mail: elaine.wolff@hhs.gov

Frank DeSando
HHS/OSEO
Phone: (202) 619-0125
E-mail: Frank.DeSando@hhs.gov

Return to Contents

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

Sumner L. Bossler Jr.
Senior Public Health Analyst
Lieutenant Commander, United States Public Health Service
Division of Health Care Emergency Preparedness
Special Programs Bureau
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
5600 Fishers Lane,
Rockville, MD RM GC 25
Phone: (301) 443-1095
Fax: (301) 480-0334
E-mail: sbossler@hrsa.gov

CDR Melissa Sanders
Branch Chief
HRSA, National Bioterrorism Hospital
Preparedness Program
Phone: (301) 443-0924
Fax: (301) 480-0334
E-mail: msanders@hrsa.gov

Return to Contents

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Daniel A. Pollock, MD
Health Outcomes Branch Chief
Division of Healthcare Quality and Promotion
National Center for Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Mail Stop E55
Atlanta, GA 30333
Phone: (404) 498-1124
Fax: (404) 498-1101
E-mail: dpollock@cdc.gov

Return to Contents

Department of Defense (DOD)-Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs

Lt. Col. William J. Kormos, Jr., USAF, MSC, CHE
Force Health Protection and Readiness
Room 3E281 Pentagon
Washington D.C.
Phone: (703) 614-4158
E-mail: william.kormos@ha.osd.mil

CAPT F. Christy Music, MSC, USN
Director, Homeland Security and National Medical Contingency Planning
OASD/HA
Force Health Protection & Readiness
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense
Department of Defense
Room 5D337
2600 Defense The Pentagon
Washington, D. C. 20(301) 2600
Phone: (703) 697-5839 or (703) 614-4159
E-mail: Francesca.music@osd.mil

Tony DeNicola
Phone: (703) 578-8544
E-mail: Tony.DeNicola@deploymenthealth.org

Sam Stange
LMI
E-mail: sstange@lmi.org

Return to Contents

DOD-USNORTHCOM

Lt. Col. James Baxter
USNORTHCOM, Liaison to the USTRANSCOM SG
USTRANSCOM
USTCJ6-PC
Scott AFB IL 62225
Phone: (618) 229-1391
E-mail: James.Baxter@hq.transcom.mil

Col. Anthony M. Rizzo, MC, SFS
Director of Operations,
Northern Command Surgeon's Office
Peterson, AFB CO 80914
Phone: (719) 554-0937
E-mail: Anthony.Rizzo@northcom.mil

Lt. Col. Thomas Berry, MS, MA
Phone: (719) 554-4980
E-mail: Thomas.Berry@northcom.mil

Return to Contents

DOD-USTRANSCOM

Major Wayne Surratt
TRAC2ES Functional Program Manager
USTCJ6-PC
Scott AFB, IL 62225
E-mail: Wayne.Surratt@hq.transcom.mil

Mark Barnes
Lead Contractor
TRAC2ES Functional Management Office
Scott AFB, IL 62225
E-mail: Mark.Barnes@hq.transcom.mil

Lt. Cipriano Pineda
Medical Planner
E-mail: Cipriano.Pineda@hq.transcom.mil

Mark Mahar
Senior Operations Officer
GPMRC
E-mail: Mark.Mahar@hq.transcom.mil

MWO Christopher Moffatt
GPMRC
E-mail: Christopher.Moffatt@hq.transcom.mil

Return to Contents

Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

Michael Feeser
VA PPP, Room GD-114
VA Medical Center
Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone: (304) 264-4803
Fax: (304) 579-2510
E-mail: Michael.Feeser@med.va.gov

R. Tom Sizemore, III, MD
Department of Veterans Affairs
Director of Operations & Readiness
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Policy, Plans, and Preparedness
810 Vermont Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20420
Phone: (202) 273-5287
Fax: (240) 220-0680
E-mail: Tom.Sizemore@mail.va.gov

Return to Contents

Department of Homeland Security

Bob Jevec
Phone: (202) 646-2439
E-mail: Robert.Jevec@dhs.gov

Teresa Lustig
Chemical Biological Countermeasures Office
Science and Technology Directorate
Department of Homeland Security
Phone: (202) 254-5766
E-mail: Teresa.Lustig@dhs.gov

Harry Koerner
Program Specialist
FEMA/RS-OP-MS-SD
Phone: (301) 443-2467
E-mail: harry.koerner@dhs.gov

Dawn M. Myscofski, PhD
Advisor, Biological Countermeasures
US Department of Homeland Security
Washington, DC 20528
Phone: (202) 254-6032
E-mail: dawn.myscofski@dhs.gov

Jeffrey Lowell, MD
Senior Medical Advisor to Secretary Ridge
E-mail: Jeffrey.Lowell@dhs.gov

Gary Sirmons
E-mail: gary.sirmons@dhs.gov

Denver Health

Stephen V. Cantrill, MD
Associate Director, Emergency Medical Services
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 0108
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-7174
Fax: (303) 436-7541
E-mail: Stephen.Cantrill@dhha.org

Peter T. Pons, MD
Emergency Medical Services
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 0108
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-6970
Fax: (303) 436-7541
E-mail: Peter.Pons@dhha.org

Sheri L. Eisert, PhD
Director, Health Services Research
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 8701
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-4072
Fax: (303) 436-4035
E-mail: Sheri.Eisert@dhha.org

Carrie Vinci
Project Manager
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 8701
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-5973
E-mail: cvinci@dhha.org

Jacob Dye
Project Manager
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 8701
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-7789
E-mail: Jacob.Dye@dhha.org

Other

James Bentley
American Hospital Association
E-mail: James.Bentley@aha.org

Robin K. Koons, PhD
Director, Hospital Preparedness Program
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Denver, CO 80246
Phone: (303) 692-2719
E-mail: robin.koons@State.co.us

Nathaniel Hupert, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Public Health and Medicine
Division of Outcomes and Effectiveness Research
Department of Public Health
Weill Medical College
New York, NY 10021
Phone: (212) 746-3049
E-mail: nah2005@med.cornell.edu

Kevin Yeskey, MD
Deputy Director
Center for Disaster and Humanitarian Assistance Medicine (CDHAM)
Uniform Services University of the Health Sciences (USUHS)
4301 Jones Bridge Road.
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (301) 295-0780
Fax: (301) 295-1038
E-mail: kyeskey@cdham.org or kyeskey@usuhs.mil

Edward J. Gabriel, MPA, EMT-P, CEM
Deputy Commissioner
Planning and Preparedness
New York City Office of Emergency Management
11 Water Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone: (718) 4220-4614
Fax: (718) 422-4662
E-mail: EGABRIEL@OEM.NYC.GOV

Return to Contents

Hospital Bed and Patient Tracking Systems
EMSystem®

Christopher W. Felton, MD, FACEP
President
1035 W. Glen Oaks Lane, Ste. 104
Mequon, WI 53092
Phone: (414) 350-8090
E-mail: cfelton@emSystem.com

Andy Nunemaker
Chief Executive Officer
1035 W. Glen Oaks Lane, Ste. 104
Mequon, WI 53092
Phone: (414) 475-4502
Fax: (414) 290-6781
E-mail: anunemaker@emsystem.com

Dave Colwell
Senior Programmer
1035 W. Glen Oaks Lane, Ste. 104
Mequon, WI 53092
Phone: (414) 475-4507
Cell: 262-442-6321
E-mail: dcolwell@emsystem.com

Return to Contents

HERoadS

Susan S. StuaRoad
Director, Regulatory Affairs
Greater New York Hospital Association
555 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
Phone: (212) 259-0727
E-mail: stuaRoad@gnyha.org

Mary Ellen Hennessy, RN
Assistant Director
Hospital BT Preparedness Program
Office of Health Systems Management
New York Dept. of Health
Hedley Park Place
433 River Street
Troy, NY 12180-2299
Phone: (518) 408-5163
Fax: (518) 402-8659
E-mail: meh08@health.State.ny.us

Ivan Gotham
New York Dept. of Health
Hedley Park Place
433 River Street
Troy, NY 12180-2299
E-mail: 4@health.State.ny.us

Debra Sottolano, PhD
Informatics Group Manager
New York Dept. of Health
433 River Street
Troy, NY 12180-2299
E-mail: dls20@health.State.ny.us
(518) 473-1809

Susan Waltman
General Council
Greater New York Hospital Association
555 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
E-mail: waltman@gnyha.org

Return to Contents

Illinois Bed Tracking System

Leslie Stein Spencer, RN, MS
Chief, Div of Emergency Medical Services and Highway Safety
Illinois Dept. of Public Health
100 W. Randolph St., Suite 6-60
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: (217) 785-2080
Fax: (217) 524-0966
E-mail: lstein@idph.State.il.us

Reddinet

Cathy Winans
Senior Vice President, Member Support Services
Hospital Association of Southern California
515 South Figueroa Street, Suite 1300
Los Angeles, CA 90071-3300
Phone: (213) 538-0719
Fax: (213) 629-4272
E-mail: cwinans@hasc.org

Return to Contents

State Hospital Capacity Web site

Duane Mariotti, BSEE, CHFM
Director, Clinical Engineering
Emergency Preparedness Liaison
Harborview Medical Center
Box 359980
Seattle, WA 98104-2499
Phone: (206) 731-3496
Fax: (206) 731-3829
E-mail: duanem@u.washington.edu

Return to Contents

Teletracking

Anthony Sanzo
President and CEO, Tele-Tracking Technologies, Inc.
336 Fourth Avenue
The Times Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
www.teletracking.com
Phone: (412) 638-1657
Fax : (412) 391-5148
E-mail: asanzo@teletracking.com

Return to Contents

Emergency Patient Tracking System (EPTS)

David Gellen
Raytheon Systems
Director of Marketing
St. Louis Operations
1843 Sherman Drive
St. Charles, MO 63303
Phone: (636) 449-3213
Fax: (636) 449-3239
Cell: (314) 280-6280
E-mail: gellend@raystl.com

RichaRoad Smith
Director of Operations
SLMMRS/STARRS
Phone: (314) 268-7850
E-mail: smithr@slmmrs.org

Mike Thomas, MPH
Associate Director
Heartland Center for Public Health Preparedness
Phone: (314) 977-4350
E-mail: Thomasmw@slu.edu

Return to Contents

Booz Allen Hamilton-TRAC2ES

John D. Power
Associate
1728 Corporate Crossing, Suite 2
O'Fallon, IL 62269
Phone: (618) 622-2332
Fax: (618) 632-6605
Cell: (618) 560-9810
E-mail: Power_John@BAH.com

Return to Contents

Wisconsin Division of Public Health

Dennis Tomczyk
Director
Hospital Bioterrorism Preparedness Program
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
PO Box 2659 Madison, WI 53701-2659
Phone: (608) 266-3128
Cell: (608) 220-6503
E-mail: tomczdj@dhfs.State.wi.us

Ann Marie Gates
Program Assistant
Hospital Bioterrorism Preparedness Program
Phone: (608) 264-6060

Return to Contents

Denver Health Development Group

Stephen V. Cantrill, MD
Associate Director
Emergency Medical Services
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 0108
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-7174
Fax: (303) 436-7541
E-mail: Stephen.Cantrill@dhha.org

Peter T. Pons, MD
Emergency Medical Services
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 0108
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-6970
Fax: (303) 436-7541
E-mail: Peter.Pons@dhha.org

Michael Bates
Data Systems Administrator
Information Services
Denver Health
777 Bannock
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-8040
E-mail: Michael.Bates@dhha.org

Sheri L. Eisert, PhD
Director, Health Services Research
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 8701
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-4072
Fax: (303) 436-4035
E-mail: Sheri.Eisert@dhha.org

Ben Grafton
Web Developer
Denver Health
E-mail: Ben.Grafton@dhha.org

Scott Daub
Web Developer
Denver Health
E-mail: Scott.Daub@dhha.org

Carrie Vinci
Project Manager
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 8701
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-5973
E-mail: cvinci@dhha.org

Jacob Dye
Project Manager
Denver Health
777 Bannock, MC 8701
Denver, CO 80204
Phone: (303) 436-7789
E-mail: Jacob.Dye@dhha.org

Camille Marthaler
CDSS Project Manager
Health Services Research
Denver Health Medical Center
Phone: (303) 436-4066
E-mail: camille.marthaler@dhha.org

Return to Contents
Proceed to Next Section

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.

 

AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care