Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services www.hhs.gov
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality www.ahrq.gov
Archive print banner
HAvBED 2: Hospital Available Beds for Emergencies and Disasters

Public Health Emergency Preparedness

This resource was part of AHRQ's Public Health Emergency Preparedness (PHEP) program, which was discontinued on June 30, 2011, in a realignment of Federal efforts.

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: https://info.ahrq.gov. Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to www.ahrq.gov for current information.

Appendix: Advisory Group Members

Brad Austin
Office of Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Brad.Austin@hhs.gov

Jean Bennett, M.S.M., M.S.N., R.N.
Office of Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Senior Regional Emergency Coordinator
Region VI
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Jean.Bennett@hhs.gov

Lieutenant Commander Sumner L. Bossler Jr.
Senior Public Health Analyst
United States Public Health Service
Division of Health Care Emergency Preparedness
Special Programs Bureau
Health Resources and Services Administration
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: sbossler@hrsa.gov

Torrance T. Brown, M,P.H.
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Torrance.Brown@hhs.gov

Captain D.W. Chen, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Civil-Military Medicine
Force Health Protection & Readiness
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs
Department of Defense
E-mail: d.w.chen@ha.osd.mil

Eric Colombel, M.S., CISSP, GSLC
Chief Information Security Officer
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Eric.Colombel@ahrq.gov

Colonel Harry Dabney, USAF
NORAD-USNORTHCOM
E-mail: Harold.dabney@wso.whs.mil

John W. Donohue, B.S., EMT-P
Chief—F.R.E.D.
Regional Programs and Emergency Operations
Maryland Institute For Emergency Medical Services Systems
E-mail: JDONOHUE@miemss.org

Michael Feeser
Emergency Management Specialist
Office of Policy, Plans and Preparedness
VA Medical Center
Department of Veterans Affairs
E-mail: Michael.Feeser@med.va.gov

Edward Gabriel
Director, Crisis Management
The Walt Disney Company
E-mail: Edward.Gabriel@disney.com

Colonel Cheryl Gregorio, USAF, B.S.C.
Director, Health Service Operations
NORAD-USNORTHCOM/SG
E-mail: cheryl.gregorio@northcom.mil

Mark Handelman
Development Requirements/Deliverables
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Mark.Handelman@ahrq.hhs.gov

Dan Hanfling, M.D., FACEP
Clinical Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine,
George Washington University
Director, Emergency Management and Disaster Medicine
Inova Health System
E-mail: dan.hanfling@inova.com

Mary Ellen Hennessy
Assistant Director Division of Primary & Acute Care Services
Health Emergency Response Data Systems
New York State Department. of Health
E-mail: meh08@health.state.ny.us

Ken Hopper
Program Manager
Department of Health and Human Services
Ken.Hopper@hhs.gov

Nathaniel Hupert, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor, Public Health and Medicine
Department of Public Health
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
E-mail:nah2005@med.cornell.edu

Teresa Brown Jesus
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Department of Health and Human Services
teresa.brownjesus@hhs.gov

Lieutenant Jason Jurkowski, M.P.H.
Director, Secretary's Operation Center
Office of Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Jason.Jurkowski@hhs.gov

Captain Ann Knebel, R.N., D.N.Sc.
Senior Program Management Officer Consultant
Office of Mass Casualty Planning
Office of Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Ann.Knebel@hhs.gov

Lieutenant Colonel William J. Kormos, Jr., USAF, M.S.C., CHE
Department of Defense (Health Affairs)
Force Health Protection and Readiness
E-mail: william.kormos@ha.osd.mil

Jon R. Krohmer, M.D., FACEP
Deputy Chief Medical Officer
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
E-mail: jon.krohmer@dhs.gov

James Lawler, M.D.
Director for Biodefense Policy
Homeland Security Council
E-mail: jlawler@who.eop.gov

F. Christy Music, M.S.C., USN
Senior Advisor for Health and Medical Civil Support Policy
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense
Department of Defense
E-mail: Francesca.music@osd.mil

Michael Oelrich
Lead Information Systems Engineer
MITRE
E-mail: moelrich@mitre.org

Vonda M. Patterson
CIDS
MITRE
E-mail: vpatterson@mitre.org

Sally Phillips, R.N., Ph.D.
Director, Public Health Emergency Preparedness Research Program
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: sphillip@AHRQ.gov

Daniel A. Pollock, M.D.
Health Outcomes Branch Chief
Division of Healthcare Quality and Promotion
National Center for Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: dpollock@cdc.gov

Jeffrey W. Runge, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
E-mail: jeff.runge@dhs.gov

Commander Melissa Sanders
Branch Chief
Health Resources and Services Administration
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: msanders@hrsa.gov

Janet T. Schiller, Ed.D.
Director Policy Planning and Evaluation
Division of Healthcare Preparedness
Health Resources and Services Administration
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: jschiller@hrsa.gov

Roslyne D. W. Schulman
Senior Associate Director, Policy Development
American Hospital Association
E-mail: rschulman@aha.org

Robert M. Shankman
GIS—Database Administrator
Secretary's Operation Center
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Robert.Shankman@hhs.gov

R. Tom Sizemore, III, M.D.
Director of Operations & Readiness
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Policy, Plans, and Preparedness
Department of Veterans Affairs
E-mail: Tom.Sizemore@mail.va.gov

Lynn Steel
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Lynn.steel@cdc.hhs.gov

Jason Thompson
Technical Representative
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Jason.Thompson@hhs.gov

Jennifer Todd, D.P.H.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: jennifer.todd@AHRQ.hhs.gov

Michael Vineyard
Deputy Director of Operations
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness & Response
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Michael.vineyard@hhs.gov

Kevin Yeskey, M.D.
Acting Deputy Assistant Director
Office of Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: Kevin.yeskey@hhs.gov

H. James Young
Emergency Operations Specialist
National Disaster Medical System
Department of Health and Human Services
E-mail: H-James.Young@hhs.gov

Michael Zanker, M.D. FACEP
Incident Coordination Division
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health Affairs
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
E-mail: Michael.Zanker@dhs.gov

Return to Contents

AHRQ Publication No. 09-0058-EF
Current as of April 2009

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.

 

AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care