Skip Navigation Archive: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Archive: Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Table V.1. AHRQ Council of Partners Subcommittees


Principal Investigators and Partner Members
(Grantee Affiliation)

Resources Produced

Science of Partnerships

Principal Investigators:

  • Lucy Savitz (Chair, RTI).
  • Josie Williams (TAMU).
  • Steve Ornstein (MUSC& Physicians Micro Systems, Inc).
  • Jerod Loeb (JCAHO).


  • Rasa Salinas (TAMU).

AHRQ Staff :

  • Margaret Coopey.
  • Denise Burgess.

Draft of a journal article on partnerships to be published in the journal supplement


Principal Investigators:

  • Louise Dembry (former Chair, Connecticut State DPH).
  • Paul Shark (CHCA).
  • Karen Kmetik (AMA).
  • Vincenza Snow (ACP).


  • Dave Knutson (current Chair, HealthFront).
  • Mark Antman (AMA).
  • AHRQ Staff:.
  • Charlotte Mullican.
  • Cynthia Palmer.

Survey tool to collect information from the PFQ grantees on barriers encountered in the implementation of their respective partnership initiatives

White paper summarizing survey results, analysis, and recommendations

Draft of a journal article to be published in the journal supplement

Dissemination and Impact

Principal Investigators:

  • Mike Callahan (Chair, HealthFront).
  • Carole Lannon (PICHC).
  • John Combes (AHA/HRET).
  • Suzanne Broderick (New York State DOH).


  • Irma Megane-Sims (JCAHO).
  • Ann Watt (JCAHO).

AHRQ Staff:

  • Sally Phillips.
  • Ron Rabbu
  • Ronda Hughes.
  • Joanne Alexandre.

Dissemination Planning Tool, 2004


Principal Investigators:

  • Penny Feldman (Chair, VNSNY).
  • Don Casey (CHP).
  • David Polakoff  (AMDA).
  • Ken Coburn (Lehigh Valley).


  • Jinnet Fowles (HealthFront).
  • Laurie Reische (AHA/HRET).
  • Glenn Stern (Lehigh Valley).
  • Barbara Calabrese (AMDA).

AHRQ Staff:

  • William Spector.
  • Judy Sangl.

Sustainability Element Checklist

Developed a workable/working definition of sustainability that takes into account the range of partnership goals (part of stated goals, not sure if completed)

Develop a framework that identifies the key dimensions of sustainability and the factors affecting sustainability (part of stated goals, not sure if completed)

Identify useful strategies, lessons, and tips for promoting sustainability (part of stated goals, not sure if completed)


Principal Investigators:

  • Nancy Donaldson (Chair, ACNL).
  • Susan Horn (ISIS).
  • George Miller (Altarum).
  • Suzanne Delbanco (Leapfrog).

Partners :

  • Greg Belden (Leapfrog).

AHRQ Staff:

  • Michael Hagan.

Draft of a journal article on "Evaluating Partnerships to Improve Clinical Quality" to be published in the journal supplement

Return to Document


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care