Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Structure of the Safety Net—Ambulatory Care (continued)

Arizona-California / Colorado-District of Columbia / Florida-Georgia / Hawaii-Michigan / Minnesota-New Jersey / New York-Oregon / Pennsylvania-Tennessee / Utah-Wisconsin

Key to Reading the Table
Key to Abbreviations

Hawaii - Michigan

ST Area Outpatient Visits
per Admission
CAP Grant
HI Honolulu, HI MSA 31.2 No
HIHonolulu County31.2-
HIResidual - Honolulu County--
ILChicago, IL PMSA12.1Yes
ILCook County11.1-
ILResidual - Cook County--
ILDeKalb County12.8-
ILDuPage County14.3-
ILResidual - DuPage County--
ILGrundy County24.6-
ILKane County15.1-
ILResidual - Kane County--
ILKendall CountyNo Hosp-
ILLake County17.1-
ILMcHenry County17.4-
ILWill County18.8-
IADes Moines, IA MSA21.9No
IADallas County11.3-
IAPolk County21.9-
IADes Moines--
IAResidual - Polk County--
IAWarren County--
KSWichita, KS MSA8.5Yes
KSButler County19.2-
KSHarvey County8.2-
KSSedgwick County8.2-
KSResidual - Sedgwick County--
MEPortland, ME MSA6.6Yes
MECumberland County6.6-
MEResidual - Cumberland County--
MDBaltimore, MD PMSA7.3No
MDAnne Arundel County5.2-
MDBaltimore County6.3-
MDCarroll County7.2-
MDHarford County3.6-
MDHoward County1.7-
MDQueen Anne's CountyNo Hosp-
MABoston, MA-NH PMSA19.0Yes
MAEssex County13.8-
MAMiddlesex County24.4-
MANorfolk County17.7-
MAPlymouth County23.9-
MASuffolk County16.6-
MAResidual - Suffolk County--
MASpringfield, MA MSA18.1No
MAHampden County17.3-
MAResidual - Hampden County--
MAHampshire County22.6-
MAWorcester, MA-CT PMSA17.2No
MAWorcester County17.2-
MAResidual - Worcester County--
MIDetroit, MI PMSA14.6Yes
MILapeer County3.8-
MIMacomb County15.4-
MISterling Heights--
MIResidual - Macomb County--
MIMonroe County11.9-
MIOakland County18.4-
MISt. Clair County22.1-
MIWayne County11.9-
MIResidual - Wayne County--
MIGrand Rapids-Muskegon-Holland, MI MSA16.2No
MIAllegan County36.1-
MIKent County11.9-
MIGrand Rapids--
MIResidual - Kent County--
MIMuskegon County21.9-
MIOttawa County28.1-
MIKalamazoo-Battle Creek, MI MSA18.0Yes
MICalhoun County11.5-
MIBattle Creek--
MIResidual - Calhoun County--
MIKalamazoo County20.4-
MIResidual - Kalamazoo County--
MIVan Buren County26.3-
MILansing-East Lansing, MI MSA17.9Yes
MIClinton County25.4-
MIEaton County16.5-
MIIngham County17.8-
MIEast Lansing--
MIResidual - Ingham County--
MISaginaw-Bay City-Midland, MI MSA14.8No
MIBay County14.6-
MIMidland County19.2-
MISaginaw County13.6-
MIResidual - Saginaw County--

Return to Data Book Contents
Proceed to Next Section


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care