Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Structure of the Safety Net—Ambulatory Care (continued)

Arizona-California / Colorado-District of Columbia / Florida-Georgia / Hawaii-Michigan / Minnesota-New Jersey / New York-Oregon / Pennsylvania-Tennessee / Utah-Wisconsin

Key to Reading the Table
Key to Abbreviations

Pennsylvania - Tennessee

ST Area Outpatient Visits
per Admission
CAP Grant
PA Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA MSA 11.8 No
PACarbon County22.5-
PALehigh County7.3-
PAResidual - Lehigh County--
PANorthampton County15.3-
PAHarrisburg-Lebanon-Carlisle, PA MSA14.2No
PACumberland County13.4-
PADauphin County11.4-
PAResidual - Dauphin County--
PALebanon County28.7-
PAPerry CountyNo Hosp-
PALancaster, PA MSA23.9No
PALancaster County23.9-
PAResidual - Lancaster County--
PAPhiladelphia, PA-NJ PMSA11.8Yes
PABucks County13.3-
PAChester County18.2-
PADelaware County8.4-
PAMontgomery County9.9-
PAPhiladelphia City and County12.5-
NJBurlington County8.9-
NJCamden County12.1-
NJGloucester County5.2-
NJSalem County26.4-
PAPittsburgh, PA MSA12.2Yes
PAAllegheny County9.9-
PAResidual - Allegheny County--
PABeaver County3.0-
PAButler County22.6-
PAFayette County12.3-
PAWashington County17.6-
PAWestmoreland County20.6-
PAScranton-Wilkes-Barre-Hazleton, PA MSA19.7Yes
PAColumbia County25.9-
PALackawanna County12.1-
PAResidual - Lackawanna County--
PALuzerne County24.8-
PAResidual - Luzerne County--
PAWyoming County15.1-
RIProvidence-Fall River-Warwick, RI-MA MSA16.4Yes
RIBristol CountyNo Hosp-
RIKent County8.6-
RIProvidence County14.1-
RIResidual - Providence County--
RIWashington County41.9-
MABristol County17.4-
SCCharleston-North Charleston, SC MSA16.4No
SCBerkeley CountyNo Hosp-
SCCharleston County16.5-
SCResidual - Charleston County--
SCDorchester County14.7-
SCColumbia, SC MSA12.1Yes
SCLexington County33.8-
SCRichland County7.1-
SCResidual - Richland County--
SCGreenville-Spartanburg-Anderson, SC MSA13.7Yes
SCAnderson County20.8-
SCCherokee County6.1-
SCGreenville County12.3-
SCResidual - Greenville County--
SCPickens County3.9-
SCSpartanburg County13.9-
SCResidual - Spartanburg County--
TNChattanooga, TN-GA MSA10.3No
TNHamilton County10.9-
TNResidual - Hamilton County--
TNMarion County10.7-
GACatoosa County5.1-
GADade County24.9-
GAWalker CountyNo Hosp-
TNJohnson City-Kingsport-Bristol, TN-VA MSA13.5No
TNCarter County15.5-
TNHawkins County22.3-
TNSullivan County10.7-
TNUnicoi County12.5-
TNWashington County17.1-
TNJohnson City--
TNResidual - Washington County--
VAScott CountyNo Hosp-
VAWashington County10.3-
VABristol (independent city)No Hosp-
TNKnoxville, TN MSA13.0Yes
TNAnderson County9.1-
TNBlount County14.5-
TNKnox County13.5-
TNResidual - Knox County--
TNLoudon County17.3-
TNSevier County14.4-
TNUnion CountyNo Hosp-
TNMemphis, TN-AR-MS MSA6.6Yes
TNFayette County1.0-
TNShelby County6.6-
TNResidual - Shelby County--
TNTipton County7.0-
ARCrittenden County6.3-
TNNashville, TN MSA11.7Yes
TNCheatham County14.7-
TNDavidson County10.6-
TNResidual - Davidson County--
TNDickson County8.7-
TNRobertson County9.0-
TNRutherford County19.2-
TNSumner County18.0-
TNWilliamson County17.4-
TNWilson County9.8-

Return to Data Book Contents
Proceed to Next Section


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care