Skip Navigation Archive: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Archive: Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner

HHS Secretary Appoints New Members to AHCPR National Advisory Council

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Press Release Date: October 20, 1998

HHS Secretary Donna E. Shalala today announced the appointment of seven new members to the National Advisory Council for Health Care Policy, Research, and Evaluation. Harold S. Luft, Ph.D., continues to serve as chairman of the council.

The council is comprised of representatives from academia, health services researchers, health care providers, consumers, and people familiar with the business, law, and ethical aspects of health care. Its role is to provide advice to the secretary and to the administrator of the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research on matters related to AHCPR's activities to enhance the quality, outcomes, effectiveness, access, and cost and use of health care services. Select to access the Overview of the Council.

"These new members will use their expertise and perspectives to help guide the agency in supporting and conducting research of importance to key health care decision-makers," said Secretary Shalala. "Their advice, combined with that of the current members of the council, is invaluable."

New Council Members

  • Donald M. Berwick, M.D., M.P.P., president and CEO, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Boston, MA.
  • Jose Julio Escarce, M.D., Ph.D. (re-appointment), senior natural scientist, RAND, Santa Monica, CA.
  • Larry A. Green, M.D., professor and Woodward-Chisholm Chairman of Family Medicine, University of Colorado, Center for Studies in Family Medicine, Denver, CO.
  • Brent C. James, vice president for medical research, executive director, Institute for Health Care Delivery Research, Intermountain Health Care, Salt Lake City, UT.
  • Sheila Leatherman, executive vice president, United HealthCare Corporation, Minnetonka, MN.
  • James M. Perrin, M.D., associate professor and director of general pediatrics, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA.
  • Peter W. Thomas, J.D., principal attorney, Powers, Pyles, Sutter and Verille, P.C., Washington, DC.

Existing Council Members

  • Colleen Conway-Welch, Ph.D., professor and dean, Vanderbilt University School of Nursing, Nashville, TN.
  • Nancy Wilson Dickey, M.D., president, American Medical Association; and associate professor, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX.
  • Dennis G. Fryback, Ph.D., professor, Department of Preventive Medicine, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI.
  • Vanessa Northington Gamble, M.D., Ph.D., director, Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in Medicine, associate professor, History of Medicine and Family Medicine, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine, Madison, WI.
  • Ada Sue Hinshaw, Ph.D., R.N., dean and professor, University of Michigan School of Nursing, Ann Arbor, MI.
  • Harold S. Luft, Ph.D., director, Institute for Policy Studies, University of California School of Medicine, San Francisco, CA.
  • Woodrow A. Myers, Jr., M.D., M.B.A., director, Health Care Management, Ford Motor Company, Dearborn, MI.
  • Stephen M. Shortell, Ph.D., professor, Health Policy and Management, University of California Berkeley School of Public Health, Berkeley, CA.
  • Ruby Takanishi, Ph.D., president, Foundation for Child Development, New York, NY.

Special Advisors

  • Elliott S. Fisher, M.D., M.P.H., associate professor of medicine, Dartmouth Medical School, Hanover, NH.
  • Nelda P. Wray, M.D., M.P.H., director, Houston Center for Quality of Care and Utilization Studies, Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Houston, TX.

In addition to the private-sector members, the following federal officials serve as ex-officio members: director, National Institutes of Health; commissioner, Food and Drug Administration; administrator, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration; director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; administrator, Health Care Financing Administration; Assistant Secretary for Defense (Health Affairs); and Chief Medical Officer, Department of Veterans Affairs.

Editor's Note: The NAC's next meeting will be on November 20, 1998. It will be held at AHCPR in the 4th Floor Conference Room at 6010 Executive Blvd, Rockville, MD, 20852.

For additional information, contact AHCPR Press Office: Salina Prasad, (301) 427-1864 (

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care