Skip Navigation Archive: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Archive: Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archival print banner

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

National Advisory Council: Subcommittee on Patient Safety and Medical Liability Reform and Patient Safety

The National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality provides advice and recommendations to AHRQ's director and to the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on priorities for a national health services research agenda.

Subcommittee on Patient Safety and Medical Liability Reform Demonstrations

On October 26, 2009, the Subcommittee, part of the AHRQ National Advisory Committee, met.


Robert S. Galvin MD
Executive Director of Health Services and Chief Medical Officer
General Electric Company
Fairfield, Connecticut


Chip Amoe, JD, MPA
Assistant Director, Federal Affairs
American Society of Anesthesiologists
Washington, DC

Joel Ario
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
Insurance Commissioner Pennsylvania Insurance Department
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

David Arkush
Public Citizen's Congress Watch
Washington, DC

Richard C. Boothman, JD
Chief Risk Officer
University of Michigan Health System
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Randall Bovbjerg, JD
Senior Fellow
Urban Institute
Washington, DC

Leo Boyle, JD
Past-President American Association for Justice (AAJ)
Meehan, Boyle, Black & Bogdanow, P.C.
Boston, Massachusetts

Ted Clarke, MD
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Denver, Colorado

Helen Darling
National Business Group on Health
Washington, DC

Barbara Fildes CNM, MS, FACNM
The American College of Nurse-Midwives
Manager, Regional Obstetrics Improvement
New England Alliance for Health (NEAH) at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Lebanon, New Hampshire

Trent Haywood, MD JD
Chief Medical Officer and Senior Vice President of Clinical Improvement Services
VHA, Inc.
East Irving, Texas

William A. Hazel Jr., MD
Member, Board of Trustees
American Medical Association
Herndon, Virginia

Stephan Landsman, JD
American Bar Association
Washington, DC

Arthur Levin, MPH
Center for Medical Consumers
New York, New York

Patrick Malone, JD
Patrick Malone and Associates PC
Washington, DC

Timothy B. McDonald, MD, JD
Chief Safety and Risk Officer for Health Affairs
University of Illinois
Chicago, Illinois

Michelle Mello, JD, PhD
Professor of Law and Public Health
Department of Health Policy and Management
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts

Nancy Ridley
Betsy Lehman Center for Patient Safety
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts

William M. Sage, MD, JD
Vice Provost for Health Affairs
James R. Dougherty Chair for Faculty Excellence
The University of Texas School of Law
Austin Texas

Paul Schyve, MD
The Joint Commission
Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois

Gerry Shea
Washington, DC

Lawrence E. Smarr
Physician Insurers Association of America
Rockville, Maryland

Albert L. Strunk, JD, MD, FACOG
Deputy Executive Vice-President and Vice-President, Fellowship Activities
The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Washington, D.C.

Steven J. Summer
American Hospital Association
President and Chief Executive Officer
Colorado Hospital Association
Greenwood Village, Colorado

Susan C. Waltman, JD
Executive Vice President and General Counsel
Greater New York Hospital Association
New York, New York

Andrew Warshaw, MD
American College of Surgeons
Surgeon-in-Chief and Chairman, Department of Surgery
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

Mary Winter, JD
Bartimus, Frickleton, Robertson and Gorny P.C.
Leawood, Kansas

Doug Wojcieszak
The Sorry Works! Coalition
Glen Carbon, Illinois

Health and Human Services Participants

Carolyn M. Clancy, MD
Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Rockville, Maryland

Rima Cohen
Counselor to the Secretary for Health Policy
US Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC


Susan Sheridan, MIM, MBA
President, Consumers Advancing Patient Safety
Eagle, Idaho

Scott Young, MD
Associate Executive Director, Clinical Care and Innovation
Senior Medical Director and Co- Executive Director
Care Management Institute
Kaiser Permanente
Oakland, California

Gerald B. Hickson, MD
Joseph C. Ross Chair in Medical Education and Administration
Center for Patient and Professional Advocacy
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, Tennessee

John M Colmers, MD
Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
Baltimore, Maryland

Page last reviewed October 2014


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care