Skip Navigation Archive: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Archive: Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archival print banner

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Slide 8. Levels of Prevention*

Presentation describes the methods used by the US Preventive Services Task Force to develop recommendations.

Levels of Prevention*

Text Description is below the image.

  • Primary Prevention
    • Avoidance/prevention of disease or injury (inclusive of mental health)
      • Immunizations
  • Secondary Prevention
    • Early detection and treatment
      • Mammography
  • Tertiary Prevention
    • Reduction of disability and prompt rehabilitation
    • Management of existing conditions.
      • End-stage renal failure

*Leavell and Clark 1965


Ask question: examples of primary/secondary, what is a pap smear? What level?

Emphasize the point about primary prevention and the need to influence young people (middle school?) to avoid risky behavior (tobacco use) and discuss information on safe sexual practices before they initiate sexual activity.

Leavel's Level's of prevention as described in 1965 are still the standard for categorizing prevention.

Previous Slide         Contents         Next Slide

Page last reviewed October 2014
Page originally created September 2012
Internet Citation: Slide 8. Levels of Prevention*. Content last reviewed October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care