Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner
National Healthcare Disparities Report, 2004

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.


The National Healthcare Disparities Report (NHDR) is the product of collaboration among agencies across the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Many individuals guided and contributed to this report. Without their wisdom and magnanimous support, this report would not have been possible.

Specifically, we thank:

Primary AHRQ Staff: Carolyn Clancy, Daniel Stryer, Katherine Crosson, Ernest Moy, Elizabeth Dayton, Karen Ho, and Donna Rae Castillo.

HHS Advisors: Hakan Aykan (ASPE), Agnes Davidson (OSOPHS), Ruth Katz (ASPE), and Marty McGeein (ASPE).

HHS Interagency Work Group for the NHDR: Irma Arispe (CDC-NCHS), Felicia Collins (HRSA), Martin Dannenfelser (ACF), Emily DeVoto (NIH), Tuei Doong (OSOPHS), Latecia Engram (HRSA), Brenda Evelyn (FDA), Anita Everett (SAMHSA), Saadia Greenberg (AoA), Tom Hertz (ASPE), Deloris Hunter (NIH), Richard Klein (CDC-NCHS), Terry Lied (CMS), Leopold Luberecki (ASL), Diane Makuc (CDC-NCHS), Saralyn Mark (OSOPHS), Susan Queen (HRSA), Beatrice Rouse (SAMHSA), Phillip Smith (IHS), Benedict Truman (CDC), Nadarajen Vydelingum (NIH), Valerie Welsh (OSOPHS), and Dinah Wiley (OCR).

AHRQ NHDR Data Group: Ernest Moy, chair, Roxanne Andrews, Sepheen Byron, Kaytura Felix-Aaron, Edward Kelley, Gary Olin, Sari Siegel, and Marc Zodet.

AHRQ Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety NHQR/NHDR Team: Edward Kelley, director, James Burgdorf, Elizabeth Dayton, Tina Ding, Darryl Gray, Karen Ho, Kelly McDermott, Dwight McNeill, Ernest Moy, Anna Poker, Judy Sangl, David Stevens, and Chunliu Zhan.

HHS Data Experts: Barbara Bartman (HRSA), Steven Cohen (AHRQ), Karen Edrington (CMS), Paul Eggers (NIH), Trena Ezzati-Rice (AHRQ), John Fleishman (AHRQ), Diane Frankenfield (CMS), Reem Ghandour (HRSA), Joe Gfroerer (SAMHSA), Julia Holmes (CDC-NCHS), Edwin Huff (CMS), Kenneth Keppel (CDC-NCHS), Doris Lefkowitz (AHRQ), Suzanne Proctor (CDC-NCHS), Lynn Ries (NIH), Colleen Ryan Smith (IHS), and Todd Wilson (CDC).

Other AHRQ Contributors: Fran Chevarley, Rosaly Correa, Denise Dougherty, Sharon Larson, Pamela Owens, Larry Patton, Denise Remus, Mary Rolston, Randie Siegel, and Phyllis Zucker. AHRQ would also like to acknowledge the contributions of the late Ellen Howe in support of NHDR activities.



The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care