Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner
2003 National Healthcare Quality Report

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.


The National Healthcare Quality Report (NHQR) is an AHRQ-led effort on behalf of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). We would especially like to thank the staff at AHRQ and other HHS agencies who supported this Departmental effort.

Specifically, we thank:

Primary AHRQ Staff: Carolyn Clancy, Dan Stryer, Edward Kelley and Beth Kosiak.

Departmental Advisors: Ruth Katz (ASPE), Edward Kelly (AHRQ), Mary Mazanec (ASPE), Marty McGeein (ASPE), Karen Migdail (AHRQ), and Craig Palosky (ASPA).

HHS Interagency Work Group for the NHQR: Irma Arispe (CDC), Hakan Aykan (OS), Linda Demlo (CDC), Emily DeVoto (NIH), Lein Han (CMS), John Hebb (CMS), Julia Holmes (CDC), Joan Jacobs (OS), Stephen Jencks (CMS), Lisa Koonin (CDC), Lisa Lang (OS), Kevin Ma (HRSA), Ronald Manderscheid (SAMHSA), Jill Marstiller (CDC), Richard McNaney (CMS), Barbara Paul (CMS), Bill Robinson (HRSA), Paul Seligman (FDA), Judith Shinogle (CDC), Denise Dougherty (AHRQ)

AHRQ NHQR Team: Jim Burgdorf, Kathy Crosson, Tina Ding, Diana Dodd, Kelly McDermott, Dwight McNeill, Ernest Moy, Anna Poker, Denise Remus, Judy Sangl, Sari Siegel, Chunliu Zhan, Aleacia Jenkins, Rhoma Johnson, Rachel Friedman, Anne Elixhauser, Roxanne Andrews

AHRQ Reviewers: Helen Burstin, Phyllis Zucker, Steve Cohen, Irene Fraser, Rosaly Correa, Steve Hill, Denise Dougherty, Trena Ezzati-Rice, Karen Beauregard, Doris Lefkowitz, Fran Chevarley, Larry Patton, Randie Siegel

AHRQ Editorial/Web Development Staff and Public Affairs Group: Karen Migdail, Randie Siegel, DonnaRae Castillo, Mary Grady, Howard Holland, Chris Williams, Al Lazar, Helen Fox, Missie Green, Biff LeVee, Gerri Michael-Dyer. Thanks also to Jean Slutsky and Stacie Schilling Jones for Web development. AHRQ would also like to acknowledge the contributions of the late Stephanie Wall to the Web development effort.

AHRQ would like to acknowledge the generous contributions of the following agencies in the process of designing and producing the report.

  • Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE), HHS
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  • CDC-National Center for Health Statistics
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
  • Indian Health Service (IHS)
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

The development of this report also benefited from substantial input from other Federal partners, professional colleagues, private organizations, and concerned members of the public. The report was refined and improved through two rounds of public feedback between July and September 2002 and ongoing dialogue with other technical experts. We acknowledge some of the many organizations that have offered feedback on the report during its development.

  • The Institute of Medicine committee, led by Drs. William Roper and Arnold Epstein, who developed the guidance report to AHRQ on the NHQR, Envisioning the National Health Care Quality Report.
  • The Quality Interagency Coordination Task Force.
  • The National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics.
  • Interested congressional staff, through a briefing to Senate Health and Labor staff in September 2002.
  • Public hearing testimony to the National Committee of Vital and Health Statistics and AHRQ offered by: the American Medical Association, the American Hospital Association, the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, and the Midwest Business Group on Health.
  • State policymakers through organizations such as the National Association of Health Data Organizations, the National Academy of State Health Policy, and the National Governors Association.
  • Institute of Medicine committee members for the IOM reports Bridging the Quality Chasm; Envisioning the National Health Care Quality Report; and Guidance for the National Healthcare Disparities Report.
  • Members of the concerned public through a Federal Register notice for input on the proposed measures for the first NHQR, circulated August 19, 2002, and for home health care quality in the Federal Register on March 24, 2003.

We also acknowledge the many expert reviewers who volunteered their time and expertise in reviewing technical issues for this report.

Finally, we would like to acknowledge the leadership of the late Dr. John Eisenberg, former Director of AHRQ, Dr. Gregg Meyer, former Director of the Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety at AHRQ, and Dr. Tom Reilly, former Director for the National Healthcare Quality Report. Without their vision, this report would not have been possible.

Proceed to Executive Summary
Return to Contents


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care