Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner
2004 National Healthcare Quality Report

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.


The National Healthcare Quality Report (NHQR) is an AHRQ-led effort on behalf of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). We would especially like to acknowledge the contributions of staff at AHRQ and other HHS agencies who supported this Departmental effort. Specifically, we thank:

Primary AHRQ Staff: Edward Kelley, Director NHQR, Carolyn Clancy, Dan Stryer, Katherine Crosson, Dwight McNeill, Ernie Moy, and Donna Rae Castillo.

Departmental Advisors: Hakan Aykan (ASPE), Ruth Katz (ASPE), and Marty McGeein (ASPE).

HHS Interagency Work Group for the NHQR: Irma Arispe (CDC), Hakan Aykan (OS), Karen Beauregard (AHRQ), Emily DeVoto (NIH), Olinda Gonzalez (SAMHSA), Lein Han (CMS), Trent Haywood (CMS), John Hebb (CMS), Julia Holmes (CDC), David Hunt (CMS), Joan Jacobs (OS), Stephen Jencks (CMS), Richard Klein (CDC-NCHS), Lisa Koonin (CDC), Lisa Lang (OS), Joel Levine (HRSA), Kevin Ma (HRSA), Diane Makuc (CDC-NCHS), Ronald Manderscheid (SAMHSA), Jill Marstiller (CDC), Richard McNaney (CMS), Karen Oliver (NIMH), Suzanne Proctor (CDC-NCHS), Bill Robinson (HRSA), Paul Seligman (FDA), Judith Shinogle (CDC), Sunil Sinah (CMS), Adelle Simons (OS), and Rebecca Middendorf (OS).

AHRQ NHQR Team: Jim Burgdorf, Rosaly Correa, Elizabeth Dayton, Tina Ding, Diana Dodd, Denise Dougherty, Darryl Gray, Karen Ho, Kelly McDermott, Dwight McNeill, Ernest Moy, Anna Poker, Denise Remus, Judy Sangl, David Stevens, Nancy Wilson Chunliu Zhan, Rachel Friedman and Jennifer Kowalski.

AHRQ Editorial/Web Development Staff, Public Affairs Group, and QualityTools teams: Randie Siegel, Mary Rolston, Joel Boches, Jean Slutsky, Mary Nix, Chris Williams, Allan Lazar, Karen Migdail, Nate Robinson, Howard Holland, Farah Englert, Biff LeVee, and Gerri Michael-Dyer.

Other AHRQ Contributors: Roxanne Andrews, Karen Beauregard, Francis Chesley, Fran Chevarley, Steve Cohen, Trena Ezzati-Rice, Irene Fraser, Robert Graham, Steve Machlin, Pamela Owens, Larry Patton, and Phyllis Zucker. AHRQ would also like to acknowledge the contributions of the late Ellen Howe in support of NHQR activities.

AHRQ would also like to acknowledge the generous contributions of the following HHS agencies in the process of designing and producing the report: Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation/HHS, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Food and Drug Administration, Health Resources and Services Administration, Indian Health Service, National Center for Health Statistics/CDC, National Institutes of Health, and Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

The development of this report also benefited from substantial input from other Federal partners including the Quality Interagency Coordination Task Force, professional colleagues, private organizations, and many expert reviewers who provided comments on the technical issues of this report. We also acknowledge comments received from members of the concerned public following a Federal Register notice (Vol. 69, No. 104), May 28, 2004, for input on the proposed measures for the 2004 NHQR.


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care