Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner
2006 National Healthcare Quality Report

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.


The NHQR is the product of collaboration among agencies across the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Many individuals guided and contributed to this report. Without their magnanimous support, this report would not have been possible.

Specifically, we thank:

Primary AHRQ Staff: Carolyn Clancy, Bill Munier, Katherine Crosson, Ernest Moy, Elizabeth Dayton, Dwight McNeill, James Burgdorf, Karen Ho, and Donna Rae Castillo.

HHS Interagency Workgroup for the NHQR/NHDR: Irma Arispe (CDC-NCHS), Hakan Aykan (ASPE), Martin Dannenfelser (ACF), Agnes Davidson (OSOPHS), Eileen Elias (OD), Brenda Evelyn (FDA), Anita Everett (SAMHSA), Kay Felix-Aaron (HRSA), Suzanne Feetham (HRSA), Olinda Gonzalez (SAMHSA), Miryam Granthon (HRSA), Saadia Greenberg (AoA), Kirk Greenway (IHS), Lein Han (CMS), Trent Haywood (CMS), Tom Hertz (ASPE), Lisa Hines (CMS), Julia Holmes (CDC-NCHS), David Hunt (CMS), Deloris Hunter (NIH), David Introcaso (ASPE), Ruth Katz (ASPE), Richard Klein (CDC-NCHS), Lisa Koonin (CDC), Leopold Luberecki (ASL), Diane Makuc (CDC-NCHS), Ronald Manderscheid (SAMHSA), Marty McGeein (ASPE), Richard McNaney (CMS), Rebecca Middendorf (ASPE), Leo Nolan (IHS), Karen Oliver (NIH), Suzanne Proctor (CDC-NCHS), Susan Queen (HRSA), Michael Rapp (CMS), William Robinson (HRSA), Susan Rossi (NIH), Beatrice Rouse (SAMHSA), Paul Seligman (FDA), Leslie Shah (HRSA), Sam Shekar (HRSA), Adelle Simmons (ASPE), Sunil Sinha (CMS), Phillip Smith (IHS), Caroline Taplin (ASPE), Emmanuel Taylor (NIH), Benedict Truman (CDC), Nadarajen Vydelingum (NIH), Valerie Welsh (OSOPHS), Dinah Wiley (OCR), Barbara Wingrove (NIH).

AHRQ Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety NHQR/NHDR Team: Ernest Moy, James Burgdorf, Denise Burgess, Colleen Choi, Kathy Crosson, Elizabeth Dayton, Tina Ding, Daryl Gray, Sonja Hall, Karen Ho, Sara Hogan, Edward Kelley, Dwight McNeill, Judy Sangl, David Stevens, Nancy Wilson, Chunliu Zhan.

HHS Data Experts: Barbara Altman (CDC-NHCS), Roxanne Andrews (AHRQ), Cheryll Cardinez (CDC), Fran Chevarley (AHRQ), Steven Cohen (AHRQ), Paul Eggers (NIH), Trena Ezzati-Rice (AHRQ), John Fleishman (AHRQ), Diane Frankenfield (CMS), Joe Gfroerer (SAMHSA), Edwin Huff (CMS), Kenneth Keppel (CDC-NCHS), Doris Lefkowitz (AHRQ), Jon Lehman (CDC), Jeanne Moorman (CDC-NCHS), Kathy O'Connor (CDC-NCHS), Robert Pratt (CDC), Valerie Robison (CDC), Jane Sisk (CDC-NCHS), Marc Zodet (AHRQ).

Other AHRQ Contributors: Cindy Brach, Rosaly Correa, Denise Dougherty, Marybeth Farquhar, Biff LeVee, Gerri Michael-Dyer, Karen Migdail, Pamela Owens, Mamatha Pancholi, Larry Patton, Wendy Perry, Deborah Queenan, Mary Rolston, Scott Rowe, Randie Siegel, Christine Williams, Phyllis Zucker.

This document is in the public domain and may be used and reprinted in the United States without permission. AHRQ appreciates citation as to source and the suggested format follows:

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2006 National Healthcare Quality Report. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; December 2006. AHRQ Pub. No. 07-0013.


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care