Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner


This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Highlights from AHRQ's Health Care Research Scholars Program

This is the second installment in our continuing series focusing on the recent achievements of current and former scholars who received support for their research education from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, AHCPR) through the Agency's National Research Service Award (NRSA) institutional training grants program.

We are very proud of the accomplishments and recognition received by these current and former students, as well as the accomplishments of their training programs and advisors. We look forward to sharing their news with you from time to time.

These features will provide a window into the future of health services research and the individuals who have already begun to lead the way toward meeting the new challenges we will face in the years ahead. If you are a current or former scholar whose research education was supported by AHRQ or its predecessor agencies (the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, AHCPR, and the National Center for Health Services Research and Health Care Technology Assessment, NCHSR) and you would like to be mentioned in an upcoming issue of Research Activities, please send a message with appropriate information to our E-mail: In particular, we are eager to hear about how your research findings have been translated into practice or how your research has affected health care in the United States. We look forward to hearing from you.

This month we are focusing on grant awards recently received by fellows and appointments of recent graduates of training programs.

Research Grant Awards to Fellows

  • David Bott, Ph.D. (Dartmouth, 1996-present) recently received an award from the American Compensation Association's Emerging Scholars Program to research the impact of implementing managed care financial incentives on individual physician decisionmaking regarding resource use among fee-for-service vs. managed care patients.
  • Carla Boutin-Foster, M.D. (Cornell Medical College, 1996-1999) received a pilot study grant from the Cornell Applied Gerontology Research Institute to examine the influence of a patient's sex as a predictor of physicians' assessment of difficult older patients.
  • Joan Teno, M.D. (Brown University, 1989-1990) was awarded a grant for research on national, State, and local indicators of end-of-life care.

Appointments of Recent Training Program Graduates

The following positions have been accepted by recent graduates:

University of Michigan T32 Program

  • Christy Lemak, Ph.D. (1996-1997)—Assistant Professor, University of Florida, Department of Health Services Administration.
  • Dennis Scanlon, Ph.D. (1994-1995)—Assistant Professor, Penn State University, Department of Health Policy and Administration.
  • Vicki Debold, Ph.D. (1999-Present)—Postdoctoral Fellow, AHRQ/Michigan Peer Review Organization.
  • Renee Stiles, Ph.D. (1992-1993)—Project Manager for Guidelines Utilization Implementation, Development and Evaluation Studies (GUIDES), University of Michigan Health Systems.
  • Bryan Weiner, Ph.D. (1993-1994)—Assistant Professor in the Department of Health Systems Management, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, Tulane University Medical Center.
  • Timothy Hofer, M.D. (1991)—Assistant Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan Medical Center and Department of Ambulatory Care, Ann Arbor, MI.

University of Minnesota T32 Program

  • Susan Farrell, Ph.D. (1992-1993)—Acting Deputy Director, Division of Biometry and Epidemiology, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.
  • Christopher Johnson, Ph.D. (1996)—Research Investigator, Michigan Veterans Administration.
  • Matthew Maciejewski, Ph.D. (1993-1994)—Researcher, Family Dental Practice, University of Minnesota Dental School.

Oregon Health Sciences University T32 Program

  • Janice Alexander, Ph.D. (1995-1997)—Epidemiologist, Oregon Health Division.
  • Richard Meenan, Ph.D. (1995-1997)—Investigator, Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research.
  • William Getchell, M.D. (1997-1999)—Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, Oregon Health Sciences University, Staff Cardiologist at the Portland Veterans Affairs Medical Center.
  • Carla Green, Ph.D. (1996-1998)—Senior Research Associate, Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research.

University of Rochester T32 Program

  • Erik DeJonghe, M.D., Ph.D., (1992-1994)—Researcher, Washington Hospital Center.
  • Dionne Johnson, M.P.H., D.D.S. (1996-1998)—Dentist and Health Services Researcher at the University of Rochester Eastman Department of Dentistry; Member of the Federation of Special Care's Committee on Managed Care, charged with developing guidelines for quality treatment for patients with disabilities served within a managed care environment.
  • Ruth Kouides, M.D., M.P.H. (1992-1994)—Assistant Professor of Medicine and Community and Preventive Medicine, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry.

Cornell University Weill Medical College T32 Program

  • Melanie Harrison, M.D., M.S. (1996-1998)—Assistant Attending Physician in Medicine/Rheumatology at the Hospital for Special Surgery, New York Presbyterian Hospital; Clinical Instructor in Medicine at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University.
  • Paulo Pacheco, M.D. (1997-1998)—Assistant Professor, Division of Gastroenetronolgy and Hepatology, Weill Medical College, Cornell University.

Return to Contents
Proceed to Next Article

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care