Chapter 3. Forming an Interdisciplinary Panel of Experts

Assessing the Evidence for Context-Sensitive Effectiveness and Safety

The technical expert panel (TEP) is a very important aspect of the project. Panel composition matters, both in terms of the panel output and the external credibility of the output. In short, one wants the most relevant disciplines to be represented by the experts with the greatest external credibility in their field, since others in their field will in part base their acceptance of the resulting criteria on their trust in the experts who contributed to the development.

With these principles in mind, we formed an expert panel with broad representation in terms of both the methods of evaluation of effectiveness, implementation, and safety and in terms of diverse groups of patient safety literature stakeholders. We included recognized experts from different patient safety topic areas (such as health IT, hospital-acquired infections, etc.), plus front line health care delivery experts and a journal editor. The members of the TEP are listed in Table 1, and their bioparagraphs can be found in Appendix A, Part 2. 

Table 1. Expert panel members: Stakeholders and methodologists

Dr. Alyce AdamsBrings expertise on the determinants of suboptimal use health care services among disparities populations, including racial differences in medication adherence and the impact of changes in health policy on access to high quality health services and health outcomes for vulnerable patients.
Dr. Peter AngoodInaugural Senior Advisor for Patient Safety at the National Quality Forum (NQF), overseeing development and maintenance of the NQF Safe Practices program and the NQF Serious Reportable Events program and providing oversight for NQF-endorsement of Measures for Patient Safety.
Dr. David BatesBrings an information technology and medication safety perspective and helps lead the Center of Information Technology Leadership at Partners HealthCare System, Inc; served as the Center Director on one of three national Centers of Excellence in Patient Safety and Research supported by AHRQ.
Dr. Leonard BickmanBrings expertise in quantitative methods, health services research, and program evaluation; Betts Professor of Psychology and Director of the Center for Evaluation and Program Improvement, Peabody College, Vanderbilt University.
Dr. Pascale CarayonBrings expertise in human factors engineering and is the Procter & Gamble Bascom Professor in Total Quality and the Director, Center for Quality and Productivity Improvement at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
Professor Sir Liam DonaldsonChief Medical Officer for England, United Kingdom; principal advisor to the United Kingdom Government on health matters and one of the most senior officials in the National Health Service (NHS). International leader in health care quality and safety and director of the WHO World Alliance for Patient Safety.
Dr. Naihua DuanAn accomplished practicing biostatistician with research interests in health services research, prevention research, and sample design and experimental design, a Professor of Biostatistics (in Psychiatry) at Columbia University, and the Director of the Division of Biostatistics and Data Coordination at New York State Psychiatric Institute.
Dr. Donna FarleyAn expert at conducting rigorous program evaluations of quality improvement initiatives and patient safety interventions who led RAND's Patient Safety Evaluation Center, funded by AHRQ, to evaluate the Federal Government's national patient safety initiative.
Dr. Trisha GreenhalghA general practitioner with research expertise in complex innovation in health care, especially electronic health records and the use of narrative methods in health services research.
Dr. John HaughomSenior Vice President of Clinical Quality and Patient Safety for PeaceHealth, a non-profit, integrated health care system in the Pacific Northwest; responsible for clinical improvement, patient safety initiatives, health services research, outcomes measurement, and all information systems initiatives.
Dr. Eileen LakeBrings expertise on the contributions of the nurse's work environment and clinical nursing expertise to patient outcomes, as well as expertise on methods for outcomes research.
Dr. Richard LilfordA physician with expertise in Bayesian analysis and interests in patient safety (particularly as applied to obstetrics/gynecology) who co-authored the recent four-part series on "An epistemology of patient safety research." Dr. Lilford's associate, Dr. Celia Brown, attended the first TEP meeting in his place. Dr. Brown brings expertise in the epistemology of patient safety research and in economics, public health, epidemiology, and biostatistics.
Dr. Kathleen LohrBrings over 35 years of experience in health services and policy research; was founding director of the RTI International University of North Carolina Evidence-based Practice Center and the RTI DEcIDE Center; now serves as senior advisor to both.
Dr. Gregg MeyerExpert in quality improvement; Senior Vice President for the Center for Quality and Safety at Massachusetts General Hospital; Co-chairman, NQF Executive Institute Task Force on Safe Practices; and previously, Director of AHRQ's Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety.
Dr. Marlene MillerExpert in pediatric quality and patient safety; Vice Chair for Quality and Safety, Johns Hopkins University Children's Center; Vice President of Quality Transformation for the National Association of Children's Hospitals and Related Institutions.
Dr. Duncan NeuhauserA health services researcher, nationally recognized for research in hospital management, quality improvement, and clinical decision analysis.
Dr. Gery RyanAn expert in a wide range of qualitative methodology and research and evaluation design.
Dr. Sanjay SaintDirector of the VA/University of Michigan Patient Safety Enhancement Program; his research focuses on hospital-acquired infections.
Dr. Kaveh ShojaniaA leader in identifying evidence-based patient safety interventions and effective strategies for translating evidence into practice; co-authored EPC patient safety reports with Wachter.
Dr. David StevensLeader of the SQUIRE project, the editor of the journal Quality and Safety in Health Care, is with AHRQ's Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, and directs the Association of American Medical Colleges' Institute for Improving Care.
Dr. Steve ShortellDean of the UC Berkeley School of Public Health and an expert in organizational management and behavior, quality improvement, and health services research.
Dr. Kieran WalsheA health services researcher who is an expert in theory-driven evaluation and in clinical and organizational governance.
Page last reviewed December 2010
Internet Citation: Chapter 3. Forming an Interdisciplinary Panel of Experts: Assessing the Evidence for Context-Sensitive Effectiveness and Safety . December 2010. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.