National Healthcare Disparities Report, 2011

The National Healthcare Quality Report (NHQR) and National Healthcare Disparities Report (NHDR) are the products of collaboration among agencies across the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Many individuals guided and contributed to this report. Without their magnanimous support, this report would not have been possible.

Specifically, we thank:

Primary AHRQ Staff: Carolyn Clancy, William Munier, Katherine Crosson, Ernest Moy, Karen Ho-Chaves, William Freeman, and Doreen Bonnett.

HHS Interagency Workgroup for the NHQR/NHDR: Girma Alemu (Health Resources and Services Administration [HRSA]), Hakan Aykan (Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation [ASPE]), Rachel Ballard-Barbash (National Cancer Institute [NCI]), Magda Barini-Garcia (HRSA), Kirsten Beronio (ASPE), Douglas Boenning (ASPE), Julia Bryan (HRSA), Steven Clauser (NCI), Rachel Clement (HRSA), Martin Dannenfelser (Administration for Children and Families [ACF]), Agnes Davidson (Office of Public Health and Science [OPHS]), Brenda Evelyn (Food and Drug Administration [FDA]), Susan Fleck (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services [CMS/NC]), Edward Garcia (CMS), Miryam Gerdine (HRSA), Olinda Gonzalez (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration [SAMHSA]), Tanya Grandison (HRSA), Saadia Greenberg (Administration on Aging [AoA]), Kirk Greenway (Indian Health Service [IHS]), Lein Han (CMS), Linda Harlan (NCI), Rebecca Hines (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/National Center for Health Statistics [CDC/NCHS]), Edwin Huff (CMS Office of the Administrator [CMS/OA]), Meghan Hufstader (Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology [ONC]), Deloris Hunter (National Institutes of Health [NIH]), Memuna Ifedirah (CMS Office of Clinical Standards and Quality [CMS/OCSQ]), Kenneth Johnson (Office for Civil Rights [OCR]), Ruta Kadonoff (ASPE), Ruth Katz (ASPE), Richard Klein (CDC/NCHS), Lisa Koonin (CDC/NCHS), Helen Lamont (ASPE), Shari Ling (CMS/OCSQ), Leopold Luberecki (ASPE), Diane Makuc (CDC/NCHS), Richard McNaney (CMS), Diane Meier (ASPE), Nancy Miller (NIH), Carmen Moten (NIH National Institute of Mental Health [NIH/NIMH]), Iran Naqvi (Office of Rural Health [ORH]), Leo Nolan (IHS), Cynthia Ogden (CDC/NCHS), Karen Oliver (NIH/NIMH), Lisa Patton (ASPE), Diane Pilkey (ASPE), Susan Polniaszek (ASPE), Suzanne Proctor-Hallquist (CDC/NCHS), Barry Portnoy (NIH Office of the Director [NIH/OD]), Michael Rapp (CMS), Georgetta Robinson (CMS), William Rodriguez (FDA/OD), Rochelle Rollins (Office of Minority Health [OMH]), Asel Ryskulova (CDC/NCHS), Michael Schoenbaum (NIMH), Adelle Simmons (ASPE), Alan E. Simon (CDC/NCHS), Sunil Sinha (CMS), Jane Sisk (CDC/NCHS), Phillip Smith (IHS), Nancy Sonnenfeld (CDC/NCHS), Caroline Taplin (HHS-ASPE), Emmanuel Taylor (NCI), Wilma Tilson (ASPE), Karmen Todd (OCR), Benedict Truman (CDC), Sayeedha Uddin (CDC/NCHS), Nadarajen A. Vydelingum (NIH), Barbara Wells (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute [NHLBI]), Valerie Welsh (OPHS/OMH), Deborah Willis-Fillinger (HRSA), Lee Wilson (ASPE/OS), Susan Yanovski (NIH National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney [NIH/NIDDK]), and Pierre Yong (ASPE).

AHRQ NHQR/NHDR Team: Roxanne Andrews (Center for Delivery, Organization, and Markets [CDOM]), Barbara Barton (Social & Scientific Systems, Inc. [SSS]), Doreen Bonnett (Office of Communications and Knowledge Transfer [OCKT]), Jeffrey Brady (CQuIPS), Eva Chang (Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety [CQuIPS]), Xiuhua Chen (SSS), Fran Chevarley (Center for Financing, Access and Cost Trends [CFACT]), Cecilia Rivera Casale (Office of Extramural Research, Education and Priority Populations [OEREP]), Karen Ho-Chaves (CQuIPS), Beth Collins Sharp (OEREP), Katherine Crosson (CQuIPS), Denise Dougherty (OEREP), William Freeman (CQuIPS), Erin Grace (Center for Primary Care, Prevention, and Clinical Partnerships [CP3]), Darryl Gray (CQuIPS), Padmini Jagadish (OEREP), Heather Johnson-Skrivanek (CP3), Ram Khadka (SSS), Shyam Misra (OEREP), Atlang Mompe (SSS), Ernest Moy (CQuIPS), William Munier (CQuIPS), Ryan Mutter (CDOM), Janet Pagán-Sutton (SSS), Amir Razi (SSS), Judy Sangl (CQuIPS), Nancy Wilson (Office of the Director [IOD]), and Marc Zodet (CFACT).

HHS Data Experts: Barbara Altman (CDC/NCHS), Anjani Chandra (CDC/NCHS), Steven Cohen (AHRQ), James Colliver (SAMHSA), Paul Eggers (NIH), David Keer (Department of Education/Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services [ED/OSERS]), William Mosher (CDC/NCHS), Cynthia Ogden (CDC/NCHS), Robin Remsburg (CDC/NCHS), Asel Ryskulova (CDC/NCHS), Alan E. Simon (CDC/NCHS), Jane Sisk (CDC/NCHS), and members of the Interagency Subcommittee on Disability Statistics.

Other Data Experts: Dale Bratzler (Oklahoma Quality Improvement Organization [QIO]), Michael Halpern (National Cancer Data Base [NCDB], American Cancer Society), Allen Ma (Oklahoma QIO), Lauren Miller (Oklahoma QIO), Wato Nsa (Oklahoma QIO), Bryan Palis (American College of Surgeons), Florentina R. Salvail (Hawaii Department of Health), Allison Petrilla (National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization [NHCPO]), Hardy Spoehr (Papa Ola Lokahi), Andrew Stewart (NCDB, American College of Surgeons), Jo Ann Tsark (Papa Ola Lokahi), and Claudia Wright (Oklahoma QIO).

Other AHRQ Contributors: Cindy Brach, Karen Fleming-Michael, Christine Heidenrich, Janet Howard, Biff LeVee, Corey Mackison, Gerri Michael-Dyer, Karen Migdail, Linwood Norman, Pamela Owens, Mamatha Pancholi, Larry Patton, Wendy Perry, Mary Rolston, Scott Rowe, Bruce Seeman, Randie Siegel, and Phyllis Zucker.

Data Support Contractors: CHD-Fu, Social and Scientific Systems, Thomson Reuters Healthcare, and Westat.

Proceed to Next Section

Page last reviewed October 2014
Internet Citation: Acknowledgements: National Healthcare Disparities Report, 2011. October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.