AHRQ: 2010 National Healthcare Disparities and Quality Reports


The NHDR and NHQR are the products of collaboration among agencies across the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Many individuals guided and contributed to this report. Without their magnanimous support, this report would not have been possible.

Specifically, we thank:

Primary AHRQ Staff: Carolyn Clancy, William Munier, Katherine Crosson, Ernest Moy, Karen Ho, William Freeman, and Doreen Bonnett.

HHS Interagency Workgroup for the NHQR/NHDR: Girma Alemu (HRSA), Roxanne Andrews (AHRQ-CDOM), Hakan Aykan (HHS-ASPE), Rachel Ballard-Barbash (NIH-NCI), Douglas Boenning (HHS-ASPE), Doreen Bonnett (AHRQ-OCKT), Melinda Buntin (HHS-ONC), Cecelia Rivera Casale (AHRQ-OEREP), Francis Chesley (AHRQ-OEREP), Frances Chevarley (AHRQ-CFACT), Steven Clauser (NIH-NCI), Agnes Davidson (HHS-OPHS), Denise Dougherty (AHRQ-OEREP), Paul Eggers (NIH-NIDDK), Brenda Evelyn (FDA), William Freeman (AHRQ-CQuIPS), Edward Garcia (CMS), Miryam Gerdine (HRSA), Olinda Gonzalez (SAMHSA), Tanya Grandison (HRSA), Darryl Gray (AHRQ-CQuIPS), Saadia Greenberg (AoA), Kirk Greenway (IHS), Lein Han (CMS), Linda Harlan (NIH-NCI), Karen Ho (AHRQ-CQuIPS), Edwin Huff (CMS), Deloris Hunter (NIH-NIMHD), Memuna Ifedirah (CMS), Padmini Jagadish (AHRQ-OEREP), Kenneth Johnson (HHS-OCR), Ruth Katz (HHS-ASPE), Richard Klein (CDC-NCHS), Lisa Koonin (CDC-NCHS), Shari Ling (CMS), Leopold Luberecki (HHS-ASL), Diane Makuc (CDC-NCHS), Marty McGeein (HHS-ASPE), Richard McNaney (CMS), Nancy Miller (NIH-OSP), Carmen Moten (NIH-NIMH), Ernest Moy (AHRQ-CQuIPS), Leo Nolan (IHS), Cynthia Ogden (CDC/NCHS), Susan Polniaszek (ASPE), Michael Rapp (CMS), Georgetta Robinson (CMS), William Rodriguez (FDA), Rochelle Rollins (HHS-OMH), Asel Ryskulova (CDC-NCHS), Judy Sangl (AHRQ-CQuIPS), Michael Schoenbaum (NIH-NIMH), Adelle Simmons (HHS-ASPE), Alan E. Simon (CDC-NCHS), Sunil Sinha (CMS), Jane Sisk (CDC-NCHS), Phillip Smith (IHS), Nancy Sonnenfeld (CDC-NCHS), Caroline Taplin (HHS-ASPE), Emmanuel Taylor (NIH-NCI), Wilma Tilson (HHS-ASPE), Benedict Truman (CDC), Joan Van Nostrand (HRSA), Barbara Wells (NIH-NHLBI), Valerie Welsh (HHS-OMH), Odies Williams (HHS-OCR), Lee Wilson (HHS-ASPE), and Susan Yanovski (NIH-NIDDK).

AHRQ NHQR/NHDR Team: Roxanne Andrews, Barbara Barton, Doreen Bonnett, Xiuhua Chen, Frances Chevarley, Cecilia Rivera Casale, Katherine Crosson, Denise Dougherty, William Freeman, Darryl Gray, Paul Gorrell, Karen Ho, Ernest Moy, Atlang Mompe, William Munier, Janet Pagán-Sutton, and Judy Sangl.

HHS Data Experts: Roxanne Andrews (AHRQ), Frances Chevarley (AHRQ), Steven Cohen (AHRQ), James Colliver (SAMHSA), Mark Eberhardt (CDC-NCHS), Paul Eggers (NIH), Alyson Essex (CDC-NCHS), John Fleishman (AHRQ), Elizabeth Goldstein (CMS), Erin Grace (AHRQ), Janey Hsiao (CDC-NCHS), Susan Jack (CDC-NCHS), Deepthi Kandi (CDC-NCHS), David Keer (ED-OSERS), Kenneth Kochanek (CDC-NCHS), Stan Lehman (CDC), Tracy Matthews (HRSA), Diane Meier (HHS-ASPE), William Mosher (CDC-NCHS), Ryan Mutter (AHRQ), Shaleah Patzer (CDC-NCHS), Arlene Siller (CDC-NCHS), Jack Vaughn (CDC-NCHS), Reda Wilson (CDC-NPCR), and Marc Zodet (AHRQ) and members of the Interagency Subcommittee on Disability Statistics.

Other Data Experts: Stephen Connor (NHPCO), Stephen Edge (Rosewell Park Cancer Institute), Michael Halpern (American Cancer Society), Bryan Palis (American College of Surgeons), Allison Petrilla (NHPCO), Carol Spence (NHPCO), Andrew Stewart (American College of Surgeons).

Other AHRQ Contributors: James Battles, Jeff Brady, Cindy Brach, Judi Consalvo, Chris Crofton, James Cleeman, Noel Eldridge, Karen Fleming-Michael, Christine Heidenrich, Biff LeVee, Morgan Liscinsky, Corey Mackison, Gerri Michael-Dyer, Karen Migdail, Laura Nawrocki, Mary Nix, Pamela Owens, Mamatha Pancholi, Larry Patton, Wendy Perry, Mary Rolston, Scott Rowe, Randie Siegel, Christine Williams, and Phyllis Zucker.

Data Support Contractors: CHD-Fu, Social and Scientific Systems, Thomson Reuters Healthcare, and Westat.

In memory of Ms. Beatrice Rouse, SAMHSA, a member of the Interagency Work Group, 2003-2010.

Proceed to Next Section

Page last reviewed October 2014
Internet Citation: AHRQ: 2010 National Healthcare Disparities and Quality Reports. October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD. http://archive.ahrq.gov/research/findings/nhqrdr/nhqr10/Ackno.html