Skip Navigation Archive: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Archive: Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archival print banner

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

National Healthcare Quality Report, 2013


The NHQR and NHDR are the products of collaboration among agencies across the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Many individuals guided and contributed to these reports. Without their magnanimous support, the reports would not have been possible.

Specifically, we thank:

Primary AHRQ Staff: Richard Kronick, Carolyn Clancy, William Munier, Jeffrey Brady, Ernest Moy, Karen Chaves, Veronica Soileau, Elizabeth Bishop, Darryl Gray, and Doreen Bonnett.

HHS Interagency Workgroup for the NHQR/NHDR: Girma Alemu (HRSA), Chisara N. Asomugha (CMS), Kirsten Beronio (ASPE), Douglas Boenning (ASPE), Nancy Breen (NCI), Miya Cain (ACF), Steven Clauser (NCI), Wayne Duffus (CDC), Olinda Gonzalez (SAMHSA), Kirk Greenway (IHS), Chris Haffer (CMS-OMH), Linda Harlan (NCI), Rebecca Hines (CDC-NCHS), Edwin Huff (CMS), Deloris Hunter (NIH), Sonja Hutchins (CDC), Ruth Katz (ASPE), Harriet Komisar (ASPE), Shari Ling (CMS), Darlene Marcoe (ACF), Tracy Matthews (HRSA), Karen McDonnell (CMS), Karen Nakano (CMS), Iran Naqvi (HRSA), Lisa Patton (ASPE), Diane Pilkey (ASPE), Kimberly Proctor (CMS-OMH), William Rodriguez (FDA), Melissa Rosen (ASPE), Asel Ryskulova (CDC-NCHS), Adelle Simmons (ASPE), Alan Simon (CDC-NCHS), Marsha Smith (CMS), Caroline Taplin (ASPE), Emmanuel Taylor (NCI), Sayeedha Uddin (CDC-NCHS), Nadarajen A. Vydelingum (NIH), Barbara Wells (NHLBI), and Valerie Welsh (OASHS-OMH).

AHRQ NHQR/NHDR Team: Roxanne Andrews (CDOM), Barbara Barton (SSS), Doreen Bonnett (OCKT), Cecilia Casale (OEREP), Karen Chaves (CQuIPS), Xiuhua Chen (SSS), Frances Chevarley (CFACT), Beth Collins-Sharp (OEREP), Denise Dougherty (OEREP), Noel Eldridge (CQuIPS), Zhengyi Fang (SSS), Erin Grace (CP3), Darryl Gray (CQuIPS), Leif Karell (SSS), Ram Khadka (SSS), Anil Koninty (SSS), Atlang Mompe (SSS), Ernest Moy (CQuIPS), William Munier (CQuIPS), Janet Pagán-Sutton (SSS), Judy Sangl (CQuIPS), Yi Wang (SSS), Nancy Wilson (IOD), and Sean Yin (SSS).

HHS Data Experts: CClarice Brown (CDC-NCHS), Anjani Chandra (CDC-NCHS), Laura Cheever (HRSA), Frances Chevarley (CFACT-MEPS), Robin Cohen (CDC-NCHS), Steven Cohen (AHRQ), James Colliver (SAMHSA), Rupali Doshi (HRSA), Paul Eggers (NIH), Elizabeth Goldstein (CMS), Beth Han (SAMHSA), Deborah Isenberg (HRSA), David Keer (ED-OSERS), Kimberly Lochner (CMS), Faye Malitz (HRSA), Marlene Matosky (HRSA), John Milberg (HRSA), William Mosher (CDC-NCHS), Evonne Amaka Nwankwo-Igomu (HRSA), Cynthia Ogden (CDC-NCHS), Robert Pratt (CDC), Asel Ryskulova (CDC-NCHS), Alan Simon (CDC-NCHS), Nancy Sonnenfeld (CMS), Alek Sripipatana (HRSA), and Deborah Trunzo (SAMHSA).

Other Data Experts: Dana Auden (Oklahoma Foundation for Medical Quality), Beth Forrest (USRDS), David Grant (UCLA), Michael Halpern (American Cancer Society), Mele Look (John A Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawaii), Allen Ma (OFMQ), Wato Nsa (OFMQ), Robin Padilla (University of Michigan), Bryan Palis (NCBD, American College of Surgeons), Royce Park (UCLA), Allison Petrilla (NHCPO), William Ross (OASIS), Florentina R. Salvail (Hawaii Department of Health), Scott Stewart (OFMQ), and Claudia Wright (OFMQ).

Other AHRQ Contributors: Cindy Brach, Monique D. Cohen, Janet Howard, James Kirby, Biff LeVee, Iris Mabry-Hernandez, Edwin Lomotan, Gerri Michael-Dyer, Karen Migdail, Shyam Misra, Laura Nawrocki, Pamela Owens, Mamatha Pancholi, Larry Patton, Wendy Perry, Richard Ricciardi, Mary Rolston, Randie Siegel, and Phyllis Zucker.

Other: Data for Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islanders provided by funding from National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD) of the National Institutes of Health, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), and Kui ka Pono Funds from Queens Health Systems (QHS).

Data Support Contractors: CHD-Fu, Social and Scientific Systems, Truven Health Analytics, and Westat.

Return to Contents

Page last reviewed May 2014
Page originally created May 2014
Internet Citation: Acknowledgments. Content last reviewed May 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.


The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care