Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner


This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

AHRQ announces new grant opportunities in health services research education

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality has made a major commitment to nurture the next generation of health services researchers. In line with this goal, AHRQ has announced support for the following three career development awards.

Predoctoral Fellowship Awards for Minority Students. AHRQ is cosponsoring a grant program with the National Institutes of Health aimed at increasing the number of health care researchers from minority populations, including blacks, Hispanics, American Indians, and Alaska Natives/Pacific Islanders. The goal of the program is to bring racial/ethnic diversity to the health care research community.

The program—the NIH Pre-Doctoral Fellowship Awards for Minority Students (F31)—provides up to 5 years of stipend and partial tuition support for health care research training leading to a Ph.D. (or equivalent) research degree or a combined M.D./Ph.D. degree. There is no payback requirement.

The two application receipt dates for 2000 are May 1 and November 15, and the corresponding earliest start dates for successful applicants are September 1, 2000 and May 1, 2001. The predoctoral fellowship awards for minority students provide:

  • An annual stipend of $15,060 (for Fiscal Year 2000). This amount may be increased in future years.
  • Partial support for the combined cost of the student's tuition, fees, and health insurance (the first $3,000 and 60 percent of remaining costs).
  • An institutional allowance of $2,500 per 12-month period to help defray the awardee's expenses.

Mentored Clinical Scientist Development Awards. Mentored Clinical Scientist Development Awards (KO8) are intended to foster career development of promising new investigators in the field. These individual awards will provide support for the development of outstanding clinician research scientists with a clinical doctoral degree, who have identified a mentor and will spend a minimum of 75 percent of a full-time effort developing their research careers. Awards will provide 3 to 5 years of support. Receipt dates for applications submitted in response to the K08 Program Announcement are February 1, June 1, and October 1 each year.

Independent Scientist Awards. Independent Scientist Awards (KO2) also are intended to foster career development of new investigators in the field. Individual awards will support newly independent scientists with either a clinical or a research doctoral degree who can demonstrate the need for a period of intensive research focus. Receipt dates for applications submitted in response to the K02 Program Announcement are February 1, June 1, and October 1 annually.

For more information on these three training programs select Research Training.

Return to Contents
Proceed to Next Article

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care