Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner

AHCPR News and Notes

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Peer review update

The Agency for Health Care Policy and Research's Health Services Research Initial Review Group (IRG) reviews applications for grants and cooperative agreements. The IRG comprises five subcommittees: Health Systems Research, Health Research Dissemination and Implementation, Health Care Technology and Decision Sciences, Health Care Quality and Effectiveness Research, and Health Care Research Training. Newly appointed subcommittee members are listed here.

Health Care Research Training (HCRT). HCRT was established recently to review applications for research training and career development, including applications for the National Research Service Awards (NRSA) program (institutional training grants and individual fellowships), dissertation grants, and other types of training support. The newly appointed members of the HCRT subcommittee are: Chair, Edmund M. Ricci, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh; William A. Anderson, Ph.D., Michigan State University; Elena Andresen, Ph.D., St. Louis University; William S. Custer, Ph.D., Georgia State University; Glenn Flores, M.D., F.A.A.P., Boston Medical Center; Deanna Grimes, Dr.P.H., R.N., University of Texas-Houston Health Science Center; Margaret J. Gunter, Ph.D., Lovelace Clinic Foundation of Albuquerque; Nancy Harada, Ph.D., P.T., University of California, Los Angeles; Jay S. Himmelstein, M.D., M.P.H., University of Massachusetts; John E. Kralewski, Ph.D., University of Minnesota; Laurel K. Leslie, M.D., Children's Hospital, San Diego; Terri Menke, Ph.D., Department of Veterans Affairs, Houston; Ciaran Phibbs, Ph.D., Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Menlo Park, CA; Lynne Richardson, M.D., Mt. Sinai Medical Center; Dale Tussing, Ph.D., Syracuse University; and Barbara Yawn, M.D., M.S., Olmstead Medical Center, Rochester, MN.

HCRT held its first review meeting on January 28-29, 1999; the second meeting will be July 29-30, 1999. The scientific review administrator for HCRT is Carl Ohata, Ph.D. Phone: (301) 427-1549).

Health Systems Research (HSR). Six new members have been appointed to the HSR subcommittee: Gloria Bazzoli, Ph.D., Northwestern University; Douglas Conrad, Ph.D., University of Washington; Stephen Mick, Ph.D., University of Michigan; Jean Mitchell, Ph.D., Georgetown University; Joan Teno, M.D., M.S., Brown University; and Doug Wholey, Ph.D., University of Minnesota.

The HSR subcommittee reviews applications concerned with the organization and functioning of the health care system. The HSR subcommittee's first meeting in 1999 was held February 18-19; they will meet again June 24-25 and October 28-29. The scientific review administrator for HSR is Martha Bryan, Ed.D.

Health Care Quality and Effectiveness Research (HCQER). Seven new members have been appointed to the HCQER subcommittee: Chair, Alvin Mushlin, M.D., Sc.M., University of Rochester Medical Center; David Bergman, M.D., Lucile Packard Children's Hospital, Stanford, CA; John Flack, M.D., M.P.H., Wayne State University; Paula Johnson, M.D., M.P.H., Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston; Elizabeth McGlynn, Ph.D., RAND, Santa Monica, CA; Pamela Mitchell, Ph.D., University of Washington; and Christopher Schmid, Ph.D., Tufts University.

HCQER met on February 9-10, 1999; the subcommittee will meet again in 1999 on June 10-11 and October 25-26. Stephen Wickizer, Pharm.D., is scientific review administrator for HCQER.

Health Research Dissemination and Implementation (HRDI). No new members have been appointed to the HRDI subcommittee. HRDI reviews applications for dissemination research projects. The subcommittee met on March 12; a second meeting is scheduled for July 8-9, 1999. Joan Hurley, M.H.S., J.D., is scientific review administrator; phone: (301) 427-1551.

Health Care Technology and Decision Sciences (HCTDS). The HCTDS subcommittee reviews applications relating to health care technologies. The subcommittee met on March 5 and will meet again June 7-8, 1999. There are no newly appointed members of the HCTDS subcommittee. The acting scientific review administrator for HCTDS is Joan Hurley, J.D., M.H.S.; phone: (301) 427-1551.

Return to Contents
Proceed to Next Article

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care