Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner

AHCPR News and Notes

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

HHS Secretary appoints new members to AHCPR National Advisory Council

Health and Human Services Secretary Donna E. Shalala has appointed four new members to the National Advisory Council (NAC) for Health Care Policy, Research, and Evaluation. The Council provides advice to the Secretary and to the Administrator of the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research. The 24-member Council comprises private-sector experts representing health care plans, providers, purchasers, consumers, and health services researchers, as well as top Federal health officials.

The new Council members are:

Karen Davis, Ph.D., President, The Commonwealth Fund, New York, NY.

Marsha Lillie-Blanton, Ph.D., Vice President, Henry J. Kaiser Foundation, Washington, DC.

Uwe E. Reinhardt, Ph.D., James Madison Professor of Political Economy and Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ.

John Clark Nelson, M.D., Partner, Mountain West Obstetrics and Gynecology, Salt Lake City, UT.

The continuing Council members are:

Donald Berwick, M.D., M.P.P., President and CEO, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Boston, MA. (Committee Chairman)

Colleen Conway-Welch, Ph.D., Professor and Dean, Vanderbilt University School of Nursing, Nashville, TN.

Jose Julio Escarce, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Natural Scientist, RAND, Santa Monica, CA.

Elliott S. Fisher, M.D., M.P.H., Associate Professor of Medicine, Dartmouth Medical School, Hanover, NH.

Dennis G. Fryback, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Preventive Medicine, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI.

Vanessa N. Gamble, M.D., Ph.D., Director, Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in Medicine and Associate Professor, History of Medicine and Family Medicine, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine, Madison, WI.

Larry A. Green, M.D., American Academy of Family Practice, Washington, DC.

Brent C. James, M.D., Vice President for Medical Research and Executive Director, Institute for Health Care Delivery Research, Intermountain Health Care, Salt Lake City, UT.

Sheila Leatherman, Executive Vice President, United HealthCare Corporation, Minnetonka, MN.

James M. Perrin, M.D., Associate Professor and Director of General Pediatrics, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA.

Ruby Takanishi, Ph.D., President, Foundation for Child Development, New York, NY.

Peter W. Thomas, J.D., Principal Attorney, Powers, Pyles, Sutter, and Verville, P.C., Washington, DC.

Nelda P. Wray, M.D., Director, Houston Center for Quality of Care and Utilization Studies, Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Houston, TX.

In addition to the private-sector members, representatives from seven Federal agencies serve as ex-officio members of the Council: the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, the Food and Drug Administration, and the Health Care Financing Administration.

Select for more information on the National Advisory Council and member Biographies.

Return to Contents
Proceed to Next Article

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care