Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Archive print banner

AHCPR News and Notes

This information is for reference purposes only. It was current when produced and may now be outdated. Archive material is no longer maintained, and some links may not work. Persons with disabilities having difficulty accessing this information should contact us at: Let us know the nature of the problem, the Web address of what you want, and your contact information.

Please go to for current information.

Donald M. Berwick, M.D., named as chair of AHCPR's National Advisory Council

AHCPR Administrator John M. Eisenberg, M.D., has named Donald M. Berwick, M.D., M.P.P., as chair of the National Advisory Council for Health Care Policy, Research, and Evaluation. Dr. Berwick, who was appointed to the Council in the fall of 1998, will serve a 1-year term as chairman. He replaces Harold S. Luft, Ph.D. The Council provides advice and recommendations to the Administrator of AHCPR and to the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services on priorities for a national health services research agenda.

Dr. Berwick is President and CEO of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement based in Boston, MA. He is a practicing pediatrician at Boston Children's Hospital, and also serves as Associate Professor of Pediatrics at the Harvard Medical School and Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management at Harvard's School of Public Health. He was Vice Chair of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force from 1990 through 1996. In 1996, Dr. Berwick was named the first "independent member" of the Board of Trustees of the American Hospital Association. He also served from 1989 through 1991 as a member of the panel of judges for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award program.

Dr. Berwick was co-founder and co-principal investigator for the National Demonstration Project on Quality Improvement in Health Care. He is a past president of the International Society for Medical Decisionmaking and is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. In April 1997, he was appointed by President Clinton to serve on the Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Healthcare Industry, which was co-chaired by the Secretaries of Health and Human Services and Labor. He has published extensively on health care policy, decision analysis, technology assessment, and health care quality management. Dr. Berwick is a summa cum laude graduate of Harvard College and holds an M.P.P. degree from the John F. Kennedy School of Government; he earned his M.D. cum laude from the Harvard Medical School.

AHCPR's 24-member National Advisory Council comprises 17 private-sector experts, representing health care plans, providers, purchasers, consumers, and researchers. The Council also includes representatives of seven Federal agencies: the National Institutes of Health; the Department of Defense; the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; the Department of Veterans Affairs; the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration; the Food and Drug Administration; and the Health Care Financing Administration.

Return to Contents
Proceed to Next Article

The information on this page is archived and provided for reference purposes only.


AHRQ Advancing Excellence in Health Care